End of life procedures
This page describes what happens when an account or project is no longer required on Isambard, or a user leaves a project. These situations are most likely to come about during one of the following three scenarios:
The retirement of project (usually three months after project end)
A PI tidying up a project requesting the removal of user(s) no longer working on the project
A user wishing his/her own account to be removed
For each user account involved, assuming the relevant consent is given the next step can be summarised as one of the following actions
Removal of Isambard account and deletion of all data from the account
The re-owning of the data associated with an account (typically to PI)
A user’s right to use Isambard is granted either through membership one of the host institutions or through external calls. Our policy is to treat the account and associated data as the property of the user and it is the user’s responsibility to ensure that any data they store on Isambard is handled appropriately.
A user may request their account be deleted or have its ownership transferred to the PI.
A PI may request an account be deleted, revoking the user’s right to use the system. Users will be notified and given a period of 2 weeks to remove data from their account before it is finally removed.
A PI may request ownership of an account be transferred. The user will be given a time limit of 2 weeks to object to this transfer. If no objection is raised in this period the account ownership will then be transferred to the PI. This is intended to cover the situation where an account owner is no longer in contact with the project and cannot request the transfer themselves.
When a project is due to end, the PI will receive notification of the closure of the project and its accounts 3 months before the accounts are closed and cleaned.